Skip to content

Doc’s license suspended after kissing patient under sedative

August 23, 2011

The Rhode Island  Department of Health periodically sends out notices about doctors whose licenses have been suspended. Last night, I got this one. Skimming the press release, I couldn’t exactly tell what the doctor had done wrong. This is what it said about Dr. Afshin Nasseri-

The Board’s investigation revealed that the physician had given the patient an injection of Midazolam during an office visit, the patient’s medical record was incomplete, and the physician was not following the conditions specified in an agreement that he had made with the Physician Health Committee of the Rhode Island Medical Society. (Midazolam is a sedative that is most commonly used prior to endoscopy or colonoscopy procedures. One of the side effects of this sedative is temporary amnesia.)

Ok, so the doctor gave his patient an injection and forgot to write in down in his/her chart? Didn’t seem like a big deal to me. Until I read the summary suspension.

In a written statement to the Board, the complainant indicated that she saw the Respondent for a complaint of right shoulder pain radiating down her arm and had a lot of family stress. Respondent left room after asking the patient to disrobe and put on an examination gown. The Respondent administered a cortisone injection to the shoulder. The Respondent then asked the patient about her sex life and then returned with a needle and a syringe and  administered it to her left arm. He then turned off the lights and told her to relax.

According to the summary suspension, the patient says Dr. Afshin Nasseri then kissed her on the mouth and moved her legs around. He also later called her on her cell phone and offered to come to her house.

Pretty different from just an “incomplete medical record.”  The Department of Health says  Nasseri had to surrender his license in 2007 due to an “episodic medical condition.”  He was later allowed to practice again, under the agreement that he’d be monitored by the Physician Health Committee from the RI Medical Society and that he’d have a chaperone in the room any time he examined a female patient. There was not a chaperone in the room when he allegedly kissed the patient.

If you’ve had a strange encounter with Dr. Nasseri, DOH wants to hear from you-

HEALTH is not aware of any other complaints against this physician; however, if any patient of Dr. Afshin Nasseri received, or thinks they may have received, an injection that sedated them and/or caused temporary amnesia, contact the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline’s Complaint Unit at 401-222-2507. All complaints will be investigated on an expedited basis.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly Perry permalink
    September 15, 2011 10:11 pm

    I have been a patient of Dr. Nasseri for about 10 years. All of my adult life. This man has always been professional since day one. I find it hard to believe that this story is true. Doctor Nasseri always uses a chaperone when I am in the office. I have never had one complaint about him. I have referred several of my friends to him. They too have had great experiences with him. I am outraged that this has come up. Once this situation is clear I intend on returning as his patient. God Bless you Dr. Nasseri I believe in you.
    Holly

    • Donna permalink
      October 11, 2011 3:20 am

      I agree with the last post. This man has been the BEST Doctor I have ever had . I can not believe this ” story” about a kiss and etc. The day I finally got medical the first call I made was to him an was over joyed to see him again . I have family and friends that see him without a single problem. They need to look into the woman who said this happened to see if she has a history of drug seeking because it sounds to me like she may have been mad that she didn’t get pain killers for her pain but only got a shot. Hmmm sounds like it could happen. I know this because its almost impossable to get a pain pill out of him , I have tried .

  2. Marc permalink
    January 30, 2012 11:34 am

    I am a male however my girlfriend see’s him as well and I must say he has never made either of us feel uncomfortable in ANY WAY! I am sure this will be cleared up and I am more then willing to stand up and speak on his behalf. He has been an amazing DR to me and my family. Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Chiropractor suspended for allegedly kissing patient, massaging “bottom” « The Pulse: health care in RI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

