Skip to content

Personal Health Care

June 1, 2010

Last night I did some full immersion reporting (ok, I just wanted to get some exercise) and tried my first boot camp work out. I know I’m a little behind on this fad (it was probably cool a few years ago) but I had a great time.

Basically, an instructor pushes you harder than you’d ever push yourself by running you through a series of sprints, stair climbs, push ups, squats, ab exercises, and weight routines for about an hour.  Oh, and your “breaks” are brief runs through the woods.

The runs were actually my favorite part. We met outside in Cranston and I was surprised by all of the wooded trails over there.  It reminded me of when I ran cross country in Portland, Oregon.  Many of our high school work outs crossed through the dirt trails in Forest Park.

BUT- the work out left me totally useless today.  I am slightly sore everywhere. I guess that means I have to go back and build up my strength.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. SueEllen permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:02 pm

    Megan, you are a trooper! I’ve actually been grappling with my own recent infatuation with extreme workouts. I’m wondering as our responsibilities – and therefore stress levels – rise, so do our need to expunge all the day’s toxins in such full force. Your body will repair itself. And then you will want more! So goes the cycle. And there is something about someone else testing your limits. I could never motivate myself on my own to do that workout. Then, of course, you will indeed get much stronger and watching that happen is an addiction of sorts too. But putting all theories aside, you had fun, right? I hope so!

    • June 1, 2010 6:44 pm

      I agree Sue! I’m already thinking about how easy the next workout will be now that I know what to expect. That, and I’m planning on having awesome arms and abs this summer! Ok, maybe by the end of the summer. Or the fall…

  2. June 15, 2010 12:00 pm

    We missed you dearly yesterday evening at outdoor Bootcamp!

    Signed,

    Megan’s Outdoor BootCamp sneakers

Leave a Reply

