Skip to content

Stay active in the snow

January 11, 2011

Mark Dieterich over at the Rhode Island Bicycle Coalition says don’t use the snow as an excuse to stop riding your bike.  In his post Tuesday on “Making your own bike chains” he considers the option of using zip ties to ad grip to bike wheels under slick conditions.

I don’t think I’d use this method over a long period of time, seems like it could do some real damage to both the tires and the wheels, but it’s something I’ll keep in mind if I ever get completely caught off guard again by a snow storm.

Dieterich says it’s worth it to invest in studded tires, like he did a few years ago.

I’ve ridden on days where you can barely walk and when riding the bike you wouldn’t know the difference.  Riding in the snow, particularly if you are one a bike trail or off in the woods is amazing.  Everything sounds different and there are far fewer people, if any.

The biggest challenge I find is when the snow gets deep.  I’ve ridden up to about 6 inches, at this height it is a serious workout.

Bicyclists- are you into braving the snow packs and pedaling through 6 inches or more ?  Let me know.  If you have one, send a picture.  And of course, BE CAREFUL out there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 3:24 pm

    This is one of the few days where I prefer to walk. It would take longer for me to put the studded tires on my bike than it would to just walk to work. Also, I know that the snow will be mostly clear by tomorrow and completely clear in a few days. In this climate, I’d have to constantly change back and forth from studded tires to regular tires throughout the winter. I guess what I really need is a crappy old mountain bike that I can just leave the studded tires on for the whole season. That or a Surly Pugsley! http://surlybikes.com/bikes/pugsley_complete/

  2. January 13, 2011 5:41 pm

    I walked to the gym last night. It took 2 hours with all the snow. While I was walking, I saw 4 “snow joggers”. It was amazing!

    People so motivated about exercising that they would go out and jog with all of this snow!

    Walk, jog, bike…. do what ever it takes!

    Why not a snow bootcamp? Drop down and give me 10 soldier!! :}

Leave a Reply

