Skip to content

Month of Kev progress report

January 9, 2012

It’s been about a week since I wrote about the month of Kev. For those who didn’t read the post, here’s the idea-you set healthy goals and stick to them for just the month of January. That way you try things that seem too hard to continue for the entire year. Hopefully, you start 2012 feeling better and maybe continue those habits well into the following months.

My friends Kevin and Nikki committed to a long list of goals- no drinking alcohol, smoothies for breakfast and lunch, running every other day, stretching every day, and staying active in general. So far, Nikki tells me they’re sticking to their plans and hope to run more this week.

I committed to run or swim five days a week and skip alcohol. My progress so far-

Jan 3rd- Ran 20 minutes
Jan 4th- Swam 30 minutes and signed up for gym membership
Jan 5th- Ran 20 minutes and had soda water with cranberry juice instead of booze
Jan 6th- Swam 30 minutes and rode my bike for transportation
Jan 7th- Went on a hike in Smithfield and rode my bike for transportation
Jan 8th- Drank soda water with cranberry juice instead of booze at the bar
Jan 9th- Swam 30 minutes

When I wake up in the morning to go to the pool or put on my running shoes, I try to tell myself I’m forming habits. Soon, getting out of bed at 6am will feel natural. I’ll wake up automatically and won’t know what to do with myself if I don’t  exercise. For now, I move as if I’m following a script. Now I’m stretching. Now I’m getting into the car. Now I’m in my swim suit at the pool. Can’t go back now.

It’s strange leaving the house when it’s still dark outside. Today the moon was still big and shining in the sky. For a moment I wondered if my clock and the radio were wrong and it was actually the middle of the night.

By the time I go to work, I feel like I’ve lived a whole day already. Now, my nights are free from worry about how to get to the pool before it closes, or guilt from not making the effort.

As for skipping alcohol, that’s been pretty easy. Bartenders don’t mind pouring me a glass of soda water with cranberry juice. I try to give a big tip to compensate for the tiny cost of my drink. Last night I went to a party and just ate the food, which is more important to me anyway!

How is your month of Kev going?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 1:50 pm

    MONTH OF KEV! I was there for the very first Month Of Kev in 2008. He didn’t make it, mind you. But I was inspired even then, and once again I find myself in the throes of a Month of Kev, and I love it. I wish the whole world knew about the Month Of Kev. Wait– once more: Month Of Kev.

    • January 9, 2012 3:56 pm

      Tell me all about your month! What were your goals? How’s it going?

  2. January 10, 2012 10:13 pm

    Very impressive Meggy!

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up month of Kev « The Pulse: health care in RI

Leave a Reply

