Skip to content

Saying goodbye to Rhode Island Public Radio

March 27, 2012

So, I’ve kept it quiet for a few weeks, but now that the job posting is up, it’s about time I put the news out on the internet.

I’m leaving Rhode Island Public Radio.

I came to this station (then WRNI) as an intern in the winter of 2002. This place is where I learned to write news copy, got paid for my first radio feature and figured out the world of social media.

Joe O’Connor and Mark Degon took a big chance in 2008 when they hired me as the station’s health care reporter.  I’d only produced radio stories about things like break-ups and pigeon races. Somehow they trusted that I’d learn the beat.

So, after more than four years as a full time employee, and more than 10 as a hanger- on, leaving Rhode Island Public Radio feels less like leaving a job and more like saying goodbye to a huge chunk of my adult life.

Everyone says this, but it’s like leaving a family too. You get pretty close to a group of people when you’re crammed into one room together with no privacy.  We miraculously live in a pretty steady state of harmony. I’ve probably learned the most just sitting next to my fabulously brilliant and funny co-workers.

This blog (and Twitter and Facebook) have brought me closer to you (as listeners/readers.) Before I engaged in all of these internet platforms, my radio pieces went out into the air and I wasn’t sure what happened to them.  Your suggestions give this work a whole new depth- someone is actually out there! Your words also constantly spark ideas for stories or help me rethink the way I report.

Thanks also to all the sources out there (named and unnamed) who patiently taught me about their slice of Rhode Island’s health care world. We have some pretty smart policy makers, government employees, health care workers, and advocates in this little state.

But never fear! I’m not going that far away. Did you really think I’d leave Little Rhody?

In May I’ll be working with Deb Faulkner on projects related to health reform in Rhode Island.  I’m excited about crossing over from reporting on these kinds of things to being in the middle of them.

I’ll stick around the station until the end of April, so expect to see more updates here and on the air.  To prevent any conflict of interest, I’ll avoid any reporting that concerns health reform, but otherwise not much will change.

I’m looking forward to our last month together.  Even then, we might not have to say goodbye. Perhaps we’ll interact in new ways when I take on this next position.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Alix Ogden permalink
    March 27, 2012 10:08 am

    Megan, All the best! I have really enjoyed your thorough and interesting work at RINPR. Hope our paths cross soon! Alix Ogden

    • March 27, 2012 10:18 am

      Thanks so much Alix! I’m sure our paths will cross soon. This little state guarantees it.

  2. March 27, 2012 10:23 am

    Who’s gonna be the “Pot Reporter Now ?”

    • March 27, 2012 10:46 am

      We’ll have a new health care reporter and I’ll make sure he/she knows what’s up!

  3. Sara Emmenecker permalink
    March 27, 2012 10:33 am

    Congratulations Megan! See you tonight at the Athenaeum.

  4. March 27, 2012 10:47 am

    Congrats, Megan! You’ve been a great asset to RIPR and I know you’ll keep doing good work wherever you go. All the best!

  5. Frank Mullin permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:19 pm

    Megan, such news! This listener and terminal Rhode Islander will miss hearing the clarity you bring on air, but given the environs, will be seeing you soon I know, like at Policy’n Pinot for starters. Great job you’ve done!

  6. Marie-France Morin permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:45 pm

    All the best Megan. Looking forward to see what you do out there!

  7. Ruth Bazinet permalink
    March 27, 2012 1:16 pm

    Best wishes for your continued success, Megan!

  8. March 27, 2012 8:49 pm

    Best of luck! I’ll see you health-care-reform-policy-land…

  9. March 27, 2012 9:13 pm

    Good luck Megan!

  10. Ellen Foley permalink
    March 27, 2012 9:31 pm

    How exciting Megan! I’ll miss you hearing you on RNI, but this just means you have to return to the track, so I can listen to you in person. Congratulations and Good luck!

    • March 28, 2012 10:40 am

      Thanks Ellen! One more reason to increase my mileage so I can keep up with you! Hope to see you soon.

  11. March 27, 2012 11:12 pm

    Congratulations + good luck. Thanks for the crack arts reporting, too!

    • March 28, 2012 10:41 am

      I had so much fun reporting on your work Erik. Looking forward to Cat’s piece about the DMV installation.

  12. Karen Ziner permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:23 am

    Megan, good luck to you! I loved your clear and insightful stories. A loss for the station and your listeners.

  13. March 28, 2012 10:06 am

    You will be sorely missed Meggy. All of yer colleagues love and respect you!

    • March 28, 2012 10:44 am

      Love you too Scotty! How will I survive without your running commentary on the day”s news? I’ll have to call you up every once in a while to get my fix.

  14. Catharine Leach permalink
    March 28, 2012 11:40 am

    Good Luck Megan!!! You work very hard. All the best!

  15. March 28, 2012 4:13 pm

    It’s been a pleasure listening to your work, Megan. You made complex issues understandable, which is a valuable skill, particularly in your chosen field. Good luck in your move, and let’s talk some time about the many ways in which the arts and healthcare intersect.

    • March 28, 2012 5:19 pm

      Thank you Randy. I’ll be doing a lot of explaining in my new job! I’ve already been thinking a bit about ways to partner with RISCA. These reforms will hopefully allow some artists to afford health insurance for the first time. Let’s talk soon.

  16. Christina Bevilacqua permalink
    March 28, 2012 6:00 pm

    The Athenaeum wishes you ALL THE BEST, Megan! Also, we are officially in mourning at the news of your leaving – so if anyone comes over and we’re in long black wool dresses, you’ll know why. We’re now looking into a black crepe wreath for the door.

    At last year’s Policy & Pinot on the healthcare mandate I was completely in awe of your policy chops generally and your ability to pivot between the experts on the panel with speed and insight – last night’s P&P on the mental health situation in RI was just as skillful. Thank you for all you brought to the Athenaeum’s collaborations with RIPR, and I hope your new colleagues know how lucky they are!

    • March 28, 2012 6:16 pm

      Oh Christina, it was my pleasure! Policy and Pinot has really been a highlight of this job. Any chance to be at your beautiful space and hob-nob with some brilliant Rhode Islanders. And please put down the drab clothing! No need to mourn! Besides, the warm weather is coming and you’ll overheat in those itchy outfits. We’ll just have to find another excuse to socialize over wine. Shouldn’t be too hard!

  17. March 29, 2012 2:47 am

    I am so sad and miss you already. The entire Medical Marijuana community will experience a loss. Your coverage has been stellar.
    Wish you the very best because you deserve the very best,
    JoAnne Leppanen
    RI Patient Advocacy Coalition (RIPAC)

    • March 29, 2012 10:20 am

      It has been my pleasure to cover what I believe is one of the most exciting health stories in the state. Thank you for helping me stay in touch with the details! I will miss you too, but hopefully we’ll still have a reason to work together in some way.

      best,

      Megan

  18. Brett Smiley permalink
    March 29, 2012 6:21 am

    Megan,
    Jim and I are happy for you but you will be sorely missed. You had better ensure there is a stuffed lion available at your next gig – its critical to the creative process.

    • March 29, 2012 10:17 am

      Thanks Brett! We’ll have to talk with Cathy about the lion. Perhaps she’ll rent it out for special occasions?

  19. Connie Worthington permalink
    March 29, 2012 11:14 am

    We’ll miss your insight, your cold facts and warm, human perspective on the issues of the day. I’m so glad you’re not leaving us but changing gears to continue your career in making Rhode Islanders better educated and healthier. Thank you for keeping our eyes and ears open. Best wishes!

    • March 30, 2012 7:38 am

      Thank you Connie! And thank you for following my work. It’s been a real pleasure reporting on the Ocean State.

  20. March 30, 2012 2:26 pm

    Megan,
    This is a huge loss for RIPR and all those who have grown to love hearing your outstanding reporting. You have a gift for breaking down the extraordinarily complex into manageable bites. So happy you are staying in Rhode Island — you are a true asset!

    • March 30, 2012 2:53 pm

      Thank you Mel! And thank you to the Rhode Island Foundation for funding my position in the first place!

      I hope to keep explaining this crazy health care world, just in a different context.

  21. Rick Brooks permalink
    April 10, 2012 11:05 pm

    Hi Meghan,

    I wish you all the best in your new role on the other side of the microphone! You have done such a great job helping RIers understand the complex world of health care, and I know you will continue this good work in your new role. Do drop in when you are in the OHIC/DLT neighborhood!

    Rick Brooks

    • April 11, 2012 11:51 am

      Thanks so much Rick!
      It’s been fun learning about this crazy health care world. Now I get to be in it! I’ll be sure to say hi when I’m nearby.

      best,

      Megan

Trackbacks

  1. Landmark and other updates « The Pulse: health care in RI
  2. Hollywood actor lends voice to “I’m sorry” debate‎ « The Gossip Board
  3. GIVE « The Pulse: health care in RI

Leave a comment